Busy Lizzie Featured Business on Bank of Ireland All About Business Site

13 May

Featured Business

Tara Dalrymple

  • Company: Busy Lizzie
  • Industry: Lifestyle Management
  • Website: http://www.busylizzie.ie
  • Location: Galway, Limerick, Cork, Dublin and Wicklow

Busy Lizzie provides back office support to SMEs reducing their fixed costs and increasing their bottom line throughout Ireland, Britain and further afield. Busy Lizzie was created 7 years ago with an office in Galway. Since then it has expanded with remote offices in Limerick, Cork, Dublin, Wicklow and Malta. Founder of the company, Tara Dalrymple told us more.

Why did you decide to start your business?

My father was my inspiration for starting my own company. I worked in the family business from the age of 6 folding mail shots, shredding paper and the like. From his various businesses I have learned so much via osmosis, and did not realise how much I had until I first started working outside of family ventures. My father is a great ideas person, he has a flair for customer service and client interaction which I believe is so fundamental in business. He has always told me ‘you can do it, you just need to put your mind to it’ and I have followed his mantra in all areas of my life.

What have been the biggest challenges and achievements for your business?

Like most people taking the jump, the largest challenge was the uncertainty of leaving a secure full time job. I undertook a year’s research before setting up, so I was able to quash quite a lot of the initial fears once I realised that the business model would work.

I have won a few business awards as well such as Winner of the Business and Professional Women’s Club Innovative Business women of the Year Award March 2005, Finalist Midlands/West of Ireland Regional LiveWIRE Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2005, Finalist in Image magazine Young Businesswoman of the Year 2008.

What are your plans for the future?

Strengthen our end markets, and emphasis on innovation, high quality services, profitable recurring revenue streams and operational excellence have contributed to consistently strong operating/financial performance

Who do you look up to in business?

Richard Branson, who being a fellow dyslexic shows me how having a learning disability does not hinder one’s ability to build great empires.

The late and great Anita Roddick, who campaigned tirelessly for indigenous tribes, against animal testing and Fairtrade products before anyone else.

What is your advice for other entrepreneurs?

If you have an idea, research it, write a business plan and never be afraid to ask for help or to ask what you think is a stupid question and network like crazy (on and offline).

Build a support system around you, and with these tools you are able to go onto great things.

How are you gaining visibility and promoting the business?

A mix of mainly online promotions, business forums targeting SMEs and through my monthly article in the Irish Independent ‘Business Brain’ where I write about topics targeted at SMEs.

Do you use any Social Media?

We are heavy users of social media, and have been using electronic marketing since 2005. With my background in IT, coupled with a great marketing team we utilise social media to great effect. We are constant users of Facebook, Twitter, blogs, LinkedIn, for ourselves as well as our clients and are starting to use foursquare for clients, as well as QR codes which are going to be huge.

Leave a Reply

